We do not support your browser. Please take a moment and upgrade to the most recent version of Internet Explorer.


Committees, Boards & CTSI Leadership Group

The CTSI's boards and committees advise the director about priorities, policies and strategy. Descriptions and members of CTSI's advisory committees and boards are below.

Institutional Steering Committee (ISC)

The ISC provides counsel to the CTSI director with regard to coordination and prioritization of CTSI operations with institutional agendas, strategic investments and resource sharing. The ISC meets at least annually.

David M. Carlisle, MD, PhD
President and Chief Executive
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science

Shlomo K. Melmed, MB, ChB, MACP
Dean of the Medical Faculty
Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
Director, Burns and Allen Research Institute
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

David I. Meyer, PhD
President and Chief Executive
The Lundquist Institute for Biomedical Innovation at Harbor-UCLA Medical Center

Jaydutt Vadgama, PhD
Vice President for Research and Health Affairs
Chief, Division of Cancer Research and Training
Endowed Chair in Cancer Research
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science

Roger Wakimoto, PhD
Vice Chancellor for Research, UCLA 

External Advisory Committee (EAC)

The EAC includes academic leadership from other CTSAs as well as leaders from industry and the community. The EAC meets annually at UCLA with CTSI leadership and program teams to review progress and make recommendations. 

Anantha Shekhar, MD, PhD (Chair)

Senior Vice Chancellor for Health Science
John and Gertrude Peterson Dean of the School of Medicine
Professor of Psychiatry
University of Pittsburgh
Founding Director, Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute

Harry P. Selker, MD, MSPH (Co-Chair)
Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Professor of Medicine, School of Medicine
Executive Director, Institute for Clinical Research and Health Policy Studies
Tufts University 

Olveen Carrasquillo, MD, MPH
Professor of Medicine And Public Health Sciences
Chief, Division of General Internal Medicine
Co-Director of Community and Stakeholder Engagement Program
University of Miami

Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola, MD, PhD
Director, Center for Reducing Health Disparities
Professor, Clinical Internal Medicine
Community Engagement Program Leader, Clinical and Translational Science Center
UC Davis

Deborah M. Fournier, PhD, MS
Assistant Provost for Institutional Research
Director, Evaluation and Tracking, BU CTSI
Boston University 

Michael K. Gould, MD, MS 
Senior Research Scientist
Director, Health Services Research & Implementation Science
Leader, Care Improvement Research Team (CIRT) in the Department of Research and Evaluation
Kaiser Permanente of Southern California 

Virginia McFerran

Shawn N. Murphy, MD, PhD
Professor of Neurology
Harvard University

William E. Smoyer, MD, FASN
C. Robert Kidder Chair Professor of Pediatrics
Vice President, Clinical and Translational Research
Director, Center for Clinical and Translational Research
The Research Institute at Nationwide Children's Hospital
Ohio State University

Hal F. Yee, Jr, MD, PhD
Chief Medical Officer
Chief Deputy Director, Health Services, Clinical and Medical Affairs
Los Angeles County Department of Health Services

Internal Advisory Board (IAB)

The IAB provides an interface with subject experts at our partner institutions and UCLA professional schools as well as with patients and the community. The IAB brings a diversity of thought and experience necessary to support successful translational science. 

Deborah B. Prothrow-Stith, MD (Chair)
Dean, College of Medicine
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science

Clarence Braddock III, MD, MPH
Vice Dean for Education
Professor, Medicine

Joel T. Braslow, MD, PhD
Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences

Robert A. Cherry, MD, MS, FACS, FACHE
Chief Medical and Quality Officer
UCLA Health

Christina Christie, PhD 
Interim Dean, Graduate School of Education & Information Studies

Jason Cong, PhD, MS
Chancellor’s Professor, Department of Computer Science
Director, Center for Domain-Specific Computing
Co-Director, Joint Research Institute in Science and Engineering by Peking University
Co-Director, VLSI Architecture, Synthesis, and Technology (VAST) Laboratory

Eric S. Daar, MD
Interim Chair, Department of Medicine
Chief, Division of HIV Medicine
Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
Professor of Medicine

Holli A. DeVon, PhD, RN 
Associate Dean for Research, Nursing

David Gere, PhD
Professor, UCLA Department of World Arts and Cultures/Dance
Director, UCLA Art & Global Health Center

Alexander Hoffmann, PhD
Professor, Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics
Director, Institute of Quantitative and Computational Biosciences (QCBio)

Jorja Leap, PhD
Adjunct Professor, Department of Social Welfare
Executive Director, Social Justice Research Partnership
Director, UCLA Watts Leadership Institute
Luskin School of Public Affairs

Nicole A. Leonard, JD, MBA
Vice President & Associate Dean, Research
Cedars-Sinai Health System

Roger Lewis, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
Professor of Emergency Medicine

Aziza Lucas-Wright, MEd
Community Engagement Specialist/Community Faculty
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science

Emilie Marcus, PhD
Executive Strategy Officer, David Geffen School of Medicine

Chon A. Noriega, PhD
Professor, Department of Film, Television and Digital Media
Director, Chicano Studies Research Center

Mark A. Peterson, PhD
Professor of Public Policy, Political Science, and Law
Department of Public Policy
Luskin School of Public Affairs

Vivek Shetty, DDS, DMD
Professor of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, School of Dentistry
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research

Johnese Spisso, MPA
President, UCLA Health
CEO, UCLA Hospitals & Clinic System

Michael Teitell, MD, PhD
Professor and Director, Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center 

Lawrence Tolliver
Owner, L. Tolliver's Barbershop (LA Barbershop Blood Pressure Study)

Laura Trejo, MS, MPA
General Manager
Los Angeles City, Department of Aging 

Jaydutt Vadgama, PhD
Vice President for Research and Health Affairs
Chief, Division of Cancer Research and Training
Endowed Chair in Cancer Research
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science

Steven P. Wallace, PhD
Professor, Community Health Sciences

Donna L. Washington, MD, MPH
Women’s Health Focused Research Area Lead, VA HSR&D Center for the Study of Healthcare Innovation, Implementation and Policy (CSHIIP), VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System
Director, Office of Health Equity/QUERI Partnered Evaluation Center
Professor of Medicine

Dorothy J. Wiley, PhD, RN 
Professor, School of Nursing

Ben M. Wu, DDS, PhD
Professor and Chair, Division of Advanced Prosthodontics
Chair, Section of Biomaterials Science
Director, Weintraub Center for Reconstructive Biotechnology

Zuo-Feng Zhang, MD, PhD
Professor, Epidemiology
Associate Dean for Research
UCLA Fielding School of Public Health

Patient Advocacy Board

The Patient Advocacy Board advises the CTSI on activities that interface with patients, such as informed consent documents and dissemination of results. The board meets semiannually with the director and attends EAC meetings to provide the patient perspective. 

Board Member
Title Organization/Disease Focus
Kawaiopua Alo President Pacific Islander Health Partnership
Tyla Hamburg Bohbot
Patient navigator and advocate Duchenne muscular dystrophy
Joyce Brandman
Brandman Foundation
Adam Miller
Member, Board of Directors Food Allergy Research and Education
Kim Norris
Co-Founder and President Lung Cancer Foundation of America
Lawrence Tolliver
Owner, L. Tolliver's Barbershop Hypertension 
Richard Van Horn
Past chairman Mental Health America of Los Angeles
Elle Seibert Registry data manager Solve Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/ Chronic Fatigue Syndrome